Intelligence
17 scoreOpenAI · Flagships Analysis
o1-preview
Intelligence, Performance & Price Analysis
Canonical slug: o1-preview · Canonical model registry at build time
Input Price
$16.50 / 1M tokensOutput Price
$66.00 / 1M tokensExecutive Assessment
Routing Verdict & Tradeoffs
Capable everyday model
o1-preview scores 17 (estimated) on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, placing it below average among other reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 28). o1-preview costs $16.50 per 1M input tokens (at the higher end, median: $1.50) and $66.00 per 1M output tokens (at the higher end, median: $8.40), based on the median across providers serving the model.
Good for routine tasks; route complex reasoning and premium workloads to stronger models.
Task Fit Assessment
| Workload | Rating | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Complex reasoning & agentic workflows | viable | Intelligence score 17 handles routine reasoning but may struggle with open-ended agentic tasks. |
| Cost-sensitive pipelines | viable | Output pricing at $66.00 is premium. Route high-volume simple tasks to cheaper alternatives. |
Cost Pressure Analysis
High
Pricing is premium — input $16.50, output $66.00. This model is expensive for high-volume or output-heavy workloads.
Technical Specifications
Architecture and Limits
| Specification | Value | Validation Authority |
|---|---|---|
| Model type | Proprietary | inferred |
| Reasoning | Yes | faq |
| Input modalities | o1-preview supports text only input. | faq |
| Output modalities | o1-preview supports text only output. | faq |
| Context window | 130k tokens | faq |
| Open weights / source | No, o1-preview is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available. | faq |
| Parameters | o1-preview is a proprietary model and OpenAI has not disclosed the model size or parameter count. | faq |
| Knowledge cutoff | o1-preview has a knowledge cutoff of October 2023. The model's training data includes information up to this date. | faq |
| API availability | Yes, o1-preview is available via API through 1 provider. | faq |
Evidence charts
Profile visualizations
Charts are the same canonical evidence cards previously published for this slug, contained inside the D18D page grammar.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index by Open Weights / Proprietary
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Intelligence
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Speed
Output tokens per second · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Context Window
Context window: tokens limit · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Intelligence Index Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index task, segmented by token type. Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Intelligence Index task · Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost to Run Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Cost (USD) to run all evaluations in the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Pricing: Cache Hit, Input, and Output
Price (USD per M Tokens) · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Methodology
Methodology & Provenance
This page is rendered from the normalized profile and page JSON for o1-preview.
Benchmark values are preserved as normalized; only layout, disclosure ordering, and typography are adjusted for readability.
Frequently Asked Questions
Model FAQs & Technical Disclosures
o1-preview was released on September 12, 2024.
o1-preview was created by OpenAI.
o1-preview scores 17 (estimated) on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, placing it below average among other reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 28).
o1-preview costs $16.50 per 1M input tokens (at the higher end, median: $1.50) and $66.00 per 1M output tokens (at the higher end, median: $8.40), based on the median across providers serving the model.
o1-preview costs $16.50 per 1M input tokens and $66.00 per 1M output tokens (based on the median across providers serving the model). For a blended rate (7:2:1 cache hit/input/output ratio), this is $15.68 per 1M tokens. Pricing may vary by provider.
Yes, o1-preview is a reasoning model. It uses extended thinking or chain-of-thought reasoning to work through complex problems before providing an answer.
o1-preview supports text only input.
o1-preview supports text only output.
No, o1-preview does not support image input. It can only process text.
No, o1-preview is not multimodal. It only supports text only input.
o1-preview has a context window of 130k tokens. This determines how much text and conversation history the model can process in a single request.
No, o1-preview is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available.
o1-preview is a proprietary model and OpenAI has not disclosed the model size or parameter count.
o1-preview achieves a score of 17 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index. This composite benchmark evaluates models across reasoning, knowledge, mathematics, and coding.
o1-preview has a knowledge cutoff of October 2023. The model's training data includes information up to this date.
Yes, o1-preview is available via API through 1 provider.
o1-preview is available through 1 API provider.