Intelligence
19 scoreOpenAI · Flagships Analysis
o1-pro
Intelligence, Performance & Price Analysis
Canonical slug: o1-pro · Canonical model registry at build time
Input Price
$150.00 / 1M tokensOutput Price
$600.00 / 1M tokensExecutive Assessment
Routing Verdict & Tradeoffs
Capable everyday model
o1-pro scores 19 (estimated) on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, placing it below average among other reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 28). o1-pro costs $150.00 per 1M input tokens (at the higher end, median: $1.50) and $600.00 per 1M output tokens (at the higher end, median: $8.40), based on the median across providers serving the model.
Good for routine tasks; route complex reasoning and premium workloads to stronger models.
Task Fit Assessment
| Workload | Rating | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Complex reasoning & agentic workflows | viable | Intelligence score 19 handles routine reasoning but may struggle with open-ended agentic tasks. |
| Cost-sensitive pipelines | viable | Output pricing at $600.00 is premium. Route high-volume simple tasks to cheaper alternatives. |
Cost Pressure Analysis
High
Pricing is premium — input $150.00, output $600.00. This model is expensive for high-volume or output-heavy workloads.
Technical Specifications
Architecture and Limits
| Specification | Value | Validation Authority |
|---|---|---|
| Model type | Proprietary | inferred |
| Reasoning | Yes | faq |
| Input modalities | o1-pro supports text and image input. | faq |
| Output modalities | o1-pro supports text output. | faq |
| Context window | 200k tokens | faq |
| Open weights / source | No, o1-pro is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available. | faq |
| Parameters | o1-pro is a proprietary model and OpenAI has not disclosed the model size or parameter count. | faq |
| Knowledge cutoff | o1-pro has a knowledge cutoff of October 2023. The model's training data includes information up to this date. | faq |
| API availability | Yes, o1-pro is available via API through 1 provider. | faq |
Evidence charts
Profile visualizations
Charts are the same canonical evidence cards previously published for this slug, contained inside the D18D page grammar.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index by Open Weights / Proprietary
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Intelligence
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Speed
Output tokens per second · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Context Window
Context window: tokens limit · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Intelligence Index Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index task, segmented by token type. Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Intelligence Index task · Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost to Run Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Cost (USD) to run all evaluations in the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Pricing: Cache Hit, Input, and Output
Price (USD per M Tokens) · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Methodology
Methodology & Provenance
This page is rendered from the normalized profile and page JSON for o1-pro.
Benchmark values are preserved as normalized; only layout, disclosure ordering, and typography are adjusted for readability.
Frequently Asked Questions
Model FAQs & Technical Disclosures
o1-pro was released on March 19, 2025.
o1-pro was created by OpenAI.
o1-pro scores 19 (estimated) on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, placing it below average among other reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 28).
o1-pro costs $150.00 per 1M input tokens (at the higher end, median: $1.50) and $600.00 per 1M output tokens (at the higher end, median: $8.40), based on the median across providers serving the model.
o1-pro costs $150.00 per 1M input tokens and $600.00 per 1M output tokens (based on the median across providers serving the model). For a blended rate (7:2:1 cache hit/input/output ratio), this is $195.00 per 1M tokens. Pricing may vary by provider.
Yes, o1-pro is a reasoning model. It uses extended thinking or chain-of-thought reasoning to work through complex problems before providing an answer.
o1-pro supports text and image input.
o1-pro supports text output.
Yes, o1-pro supports image input and can analyze, describe, and answer questions about images.
Yes, o1-pro is multimodal. It can process text and image input and generate text output.
o1-pro has a context window of 200k tokens. This determines how much text and conversation history the model can process in a single request.
No, o1-pro is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available.
o1-pro is a proprietary model and OpenAI has not disclosed the model size or parameter count.
o1-pro achieves a score of 19 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index. This composite benchmark evaluates models across reasoning, knowledge, mathematics, and coding.
o1-pro has a knowledge cutoff of October 2023. The model's training data includes information up to this date.
Yes, o1-pro is available via API through 1 provider.
o1-pro is available through 1 API provider.