Intelligence
15 scoreOpenAI · Flagships Analysis
GPT-4.1 mini
Intelligence, Performance & Price Analysis
Canonical slug: gpt-4-1-mini · Canonical model registry at build time
Speed
85.6 output tokens/secLatency
1.02s TTFTInput Price
$0.40 / 1M tokensOutput Price
$1.60 / 1M tokensVerbosity
5.2M Output tokens from Intelligence Index 2 out of 4 units for Verbosity . CompExecutive Assessment
Routing Verdict & Tradeoffs
Capable everyday model
GPT-4.1 mini scores 15 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, placing it above average among other non-reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 11). GPT-4.1 mini generates output at 85.6 tokens per second (based on OpenAI's API), which is below average compared to other non-reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 95.5 t/s). GPT-4.1 mini costs $0.40 per 1M input tokens (somewhat higher than average, median: $0.20) and $1.60 per 1M output tokens (at the higher end, median: $0.70), based on OpenAI's API.
Good for routine tasks; route complex reasoning and premium workloads to stronger models.
Task Fit Assessment
| Workload | Rating | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Complex reasoning & agentic workflows | viable | Intelligence score 15 handles routine reasoning but may struggle with open-ended agentic tasks. |
| High-volume chat & customer-facing | optimal | Output speed 85.6 tokens/sec is adequate for chat. |
| Latency-sensitive applications | optimal | TTFT 1.02s — adequate latency for most interactive use cases. |
| Cost-sensitive pipelines | optimal | Output pricing at $1.60 is reasonable for moderate volume. |
Cost Pressure Analysis
Medium
Pricing is moderate — input $0.40, output $1.60. Costs accumulate at volume but are manageable for valuable tasks.
Technical Specifications
Architecture and Limits
| Specification | Value | Validation Authority |
|---|---|---|
| Model type | Proprietary | inferred |
| Reasoning | No | faq |
| Input modalities | GPT-4.1 mini supports text and image input. | faq |
| Output modalities | GPT-4.1 mini supports text output. | faq |
| Context window | GPT-4.1 mini has a context window of 1.0M tokens. This determines how much text and conversation history the model can process in a single request. | faq |
| Open weights / source | No, GPT-4.1 mini is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available. | faq |
| Parameters | GPT-4.1 mini is a proprietary model and OpenAI has not disclosed the model size or parameter count. | faq |
| Knowledge cutoff | GPT-4.1 mini has a knowledge cutoff of May 2024. The model's training data includes information up to this date. | faq |
| API availability | Yes, GPT-4.1 mini is available via API through 2 providers. | faq |
Evidence charts
Profile visualizations
Charts are the same canonical evidence cards previously published for this slug, contained inside the D18D page grammar.
AA-Omniscience Index
AA-Omniscience Index (higher is better) measures knowledge reliability and hallucination. It rewards correct answers, penalizes hallucinations, and has no penalty for refusing to answer. Scores range from -100 to 100, where 0 means as many correct as incorrect answers, and negative scores mean more incorrect than correct. · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index by Open Weights / Proprietary
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Intelligence
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Output Speed
Output tokens per second · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Speed
Output tokens per second · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
End-to-End Response Time
Seconds to output 500 tokens, including reasoning model 'thinking' time · Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Latency: Time To First Answer Token
Seconds to first answer token received · Accounts for reasoning model 'thinking' time · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Context Window
Context window: tokens limit · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Intelligence Index Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index task, segmented by token type. Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Intelligence Index task · Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost to Run Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Cost (USD) to run all evaluations in the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Pricing: Cache Hit, Input, and Output
Price (USD per M Tokens) · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Time per Intelligence Index Task
Weighted average decode time (minutes) per task; excludes TTFT and overhead time · Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Output Tokens per Intelligence Index Task
Weighted average number of output tokens used to run one task in the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Methodology
Methodology & Provenance
This page is rendered from the normalized profile and page JSON for GPT-4.1 mini.
Benchmark values are preserved as normalized; only layout, disclosure ordering, and typography are adjusted for readability.
Frequently Asked Questions
Model FAQs & Technical Disclosures
GPT-4.1 mini was released on April 14, 2025.
GPT-4.1 mini was created by OpenAI.
GPT-4.1 mini scores 15 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, placing it above average among other non-reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 11).
GPT-4.1 mini generates output at 85.6 tokens per second (based on OpenAI's API), which is below average compared to other non-reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 95.5 t/s).
GPT-4.1 mini has a time to first token (TTFT) of 1.02s (based on OpenAI's API), which is better than average compared to other non-reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 1.53s).
GPT-4.1 mini costs $0.40 per 1M input tokens (somewhat higher than average, median: $0.20) and $1.60 per 1M output tokens (at the higher end, median: $0.70), based on OpenAI's API.
GPT-4.1 mini costs $0.40 per 1M input tokens and $1.60 per 1M output tokens (based on OpenAI's API). For a blended rate (7:2:1 cache hit/input/output ratio), this is $0.31 per 1M tokens. Pricing may vary by provider.
When evaluated on the Intelligence Index, GPT-4.1 mini generated 5.2M output tokens, which is better than average compared to other non-reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 8.4M).
No, GPT-4.1 mini is not a reasoning model. It provides direct responses without extended chain-of-thought reasoning.
GPT-4.1 mini supports text and image input.
GPT-4.1 mini supports text output.
Yes, GPT-4.1 mini supports image input and can analyze, describe, and answer questions about images.
Yes, GPT-4.1 mini is multimodal. It can process text and image input and generate text output.
GPT-4.1 mini has a context window of 1.0M tokens. This determines how much text and conversation history the model can process in a single request.
No, GPT-4.1 mini is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available.
GPT-4.1 mini is a proprietary model and OpenAI has not disclosed the model size or parameter count.
GPT-4.1 mini achieves a score of 15 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index. This composite benchmark evaluates models across reasoning, knowledge, mathematics, and coding.
GPT-4.1 mini has a knowledge cutoff of May 2024. The model's training data includes information up to this date.
Yes, GPT-4.1 mini is available via API through 2 providers.
GPT-4.1 mini is available through 2 API providers.