Intelligence
8 scoreOpenAI · Flagships Analysis
GPT-4 Turbo
Intelligence, Performance & Price Analysis
Canonical slug: gpt-4-turbo · Canonical model registry at build time
Speed
32.7 output tokens/secLatency
3.02s TTFTInput Price
$10.00 / 1M tokensOutput Price
$30.00 / 1M tokensExecutive Assessment
Routing Verdict & Tradeoffs
Budget-friendly / task-specific model
GPT-4 Turbo scores 8 (estimated) on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, placing it at the lower end among other non-reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 17). GPT-4 Turbo generates output at 32.7 tokens per second (based on OpenAI's API), which is at the lower end compared to other non-reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 61.7 t/s). GPT-4 Turbo costs $10.00 per 1M input tokens (at the higher end, median: $1.88) and $30.00 per 1M output tokens (at the higher end, median: $7.75), based on OpenAI's API.
Best for high-volume, simple, or domain-specific tasks where cost or speed matters more than deep reasoning.
Task Fit Assessment
| Workload | Rating | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Complex reasoning & agentic workflows | suboptimal | Intelligence score 8 is better suited for straightforward tasks than multi-step reasoning. |
| High-volume chat & customer-facing | viable | Output speed may be a bottleneck for real-time chat at scale. |
| Latency-sensitive applications | viable | TTFT 3.02s — latency may be noticeable in interactive use. |
| Cost-sensitive pipelines | viable | Output pricing at $30.00 is premium. Route high-volume simple tasks to cheaper alternatives. |
Cost Pressure Analysis
High
Pricing is premium — input $10.00, output $30.00. This model is expensive for high-volume or output-heavy workloads.
Technical Specifications
Architecture and Limits
| Specification | Value | Validation Authority |
|---|---|---|
| Model type | Proprietary | inferred |
| Reasoning | No | faq |
| Input modalities | GPT-4 Turbo supports image input. | faq |
| Output modalities | GPT-4 Turbo supports text only output. | faq |
| Context window | 130k tokens | faq |
| Open weights / source | No, GPT-4 Turbo is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available. | faq |
| Parameters | GPT-4 Turbo is a proprietary model and OpenAI has not disclosed the model size or parameter count. | faq |
| Knowledge cutoff | GPT-4 Turbo has a knowledge cutoff of April 2023. The model's training data includes information up to this date. | faq |
| API availability | Yes, GPT-4 Turbo is available via API through 2 providers. | faq |
Evidence charts
Profile visualizations
Charts are the same canonical evidence cards previously published for this slug, contained inside the D18D page grammar.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index by Open Weights / Proprietary
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Intelligence
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Output Speed
Output tokens per second · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Speed
Output tokens per second · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
End-to-End Response Time
Seconds to output 500 tokens, including reasoning model 'thinking' time · Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Latency: Time To First Answer Token
Seconds to first answer token received · Accounts for reasoning model 'thinking' time · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Context Window
Context window: tokens limit · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Intelligence Index Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index task, segmented by token type. Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Intelligence Index task · Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost to Run Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Cost (USD) to run all evaluations in the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Pricing: Cache Hit, Input, and Output
Price (USD per M Tokens) · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Time per Intelligence Index Task
Weighted average decode time (minutes) per task; excludes TTFT and overhead time · Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Methodology
Methodology & Provenance
This page is rendered from the normalized profile and page JSON for GPT-4 Turbo.
Benchmark values are preserved as normalized; only layout, disclosure ordering, and typography are adjusted for readability.
Frequently Asked Questions
Model FAQs & Technical Disclosures
GPT-4 Turbo was released on November 6, 2023.
GPT-4 Turbo was created by OpenAI.
GPT-4 Turbo scores 8 (estimated) on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, placing it at the lower end among other non-reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 17).
GPT-4 Turbo generates output at 32.7 tokens per second (based on OpenAI's API), which is at the lower end compared to other non-reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 61.7 t/s).
GPT-4 Turbo has a time to first token (TTFT) of 3.02s (based on OpenAI's API), which is at the higher end compared to other non-reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 1.57s).
GPT-4 Turbo costs $10.00 per 1M input tokens (at the higher end, median: $1.88) and $30.00 per 1M output tokens (at the higher end, median: $7.75), based on OpenAI's API.
GPT-4 Turbo costs $10.00 per 1M input tokens and $30.00 per 1M output tokens (based on OpenAI's API). For a blended rate (7:2:1 cache hit/input/output ratio), this is $12.00 per 1M tokens. Pricing may vary by provider.
No, GPT-4 Turbo is not a reasoning model. It provides direct responses without extended chain-of-thought reasoning.
GPT-4 Turbo supports image input.
GPT-4 Turbo supports text only output.
Yes, GPT-4 Turbo supports image input and can analyze, describe, and answer questions about images.
No, GPT-4 Turbo is not multimodal. It only supports image input.
GPT-4 Turbo has a context window of 130k tokens. This determines how much text and conversation history the model can process in a single request.
No, GPT-4 Turbo is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available.
GPT-4 Turbo is a proprietary model and OpenAI has not disclosed the model size or parameter count.
GPT-4 Turbo achieves a score of 8 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index. This composite benchmark evaluates models across reasoning, knowledge, mathematics, and coding.
GPT-4 Turbo has a knowledge cutoff of April 2023. The model's training data includes information up to this date.
Yes, GPT-4 Turbo is available via API through 2 providers.
GPT-4 Turbo is available through 2 API providers.