Intelligence
12 scoreOpenAI · Flagships Analysis
GPT-4o (Mar)
Intelligence, Performance & Price Analysis
Canonical slug: gpt-4o-chatgpt-03-25 · Canonical model registry at build time
Input Price
$0.00Output Price
$0.00Executive Assessment
Routing Verdict & Tradeoffs
Capable everyday model
GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) scores 12 (estimated) on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, placing it above average among other non-reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 8).
Good for routine tasks; route complex reasoning and premium workloads to stronger models.
Task Fit Assessment
| Workload | Rating | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Complex reasoning & agentic workflows | viable | Intelligence score 12 handles routine reasoning but may struggle with open-ended agentic tasks. |
| Cost-sensitive pipelines | optimal | Output pricing at $0.00 is very competitive for high-volume workloads. |
Cost Pressure Analysis
Low
Pricing is competitive — input $0.00, output $0.00. Suitable for sustained production use.
Technical Specifications
Architecture and Limits
| Specification | Value | Validation Authority |
|---|---|---|
| Model type | Proprietary | inferred |
| Reasoning | No | faq |
| Input modalities | GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) supports text and image input. | faq |
| Output modalities | GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) supports text output. | faq |
| Context window | 130k tokens | faq |
| Open weights / source | No, GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available. | faq |
| Parameters | GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) is a proprietary model and OpenAI has not disclosed the model size or parameter count. | faq |
| Knowledge cutoff | GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) has a knowledge cutoff of October 2023. The model's training data includes information up to this date. | faq |
Evidence charts
Profile visualizations
Charts are the same canonical evidence cards previously published for this slug, contained inside the D18D page grammar.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index by Open Weights / Proprietary
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Intelligence
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Speed
Output tokens per second · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Context Window
Context window: tokens limit · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Intelligence Index Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index task, segmented by token type. Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Intelligence Index task · Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost to Run Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Cost (USD) to run all evaluations in the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Pricing: Cache Hit, Input, and Output
Price (USD per M Tokens) · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Methodology
Methodology & Provenance
This page is rendered from the normalized profile and page JSON for GPT-4o (Mar).
Benchmark values are preserved as normalized; only layout, disclosure ordering, and typography are adjusted for readability.
Frequently Asked Questions
Model FAQs & Technical Disclosures
GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) was released on March 27, 2025.
GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) was created by OpenAI.
GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) scores 12 (estimated) on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, placing it above average among other non-reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 8).
No, GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) is not a reasoning model. It provides direct responses without extended chain-of-thought reasoning.
GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) supports text and image input.
GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) supports text output.
Yes, GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) supports image input and can analyze, describe, and answer questions about images.
Yes, GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) is multimodal. It can process text and image input and generate text output.
GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) has a context window of 130k tokens. This determines how much text and conversation history the model can process in a single request.
No, GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available.
GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) is a proprietary model and OpenAI has not disclosed the model size or parameter count.
GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) achieves a score of 12 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index. This composite benchmark evaluates models across reasoning, knowledge, mathematics, and coding.
GPT-4o (March 2025, chatgpt-4o-latest) has a knowledge cutoff of October 2023. The model's training data includes information up to this date.
Check the providers page for current API availability.
Visit the providers page to see availability.