Input Price
$30.00 / 1M tokensOpenAI · Flagships Analysis
GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh)
Intelligence, Performance & Price Analysis
Canonical slug: gpt-5-4-pro · Canonical model registry at build time
Output Price
$180.00 / 1M tokensExecutive Assessment
Routing Verdict & Tradeoffs
General purpose assistant
GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) costs $30.00 per 1M input tokens (at the higher end, median: $1.50) and $180.00 per 1M output tokens (at the higher end, median: $8.40), based on OpenAI's API.
Route complex or high-value tasks here when the extra capability justifies the cost.
Task Fit Assessment
| Workload | Rating | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Cost-sensitive pipelines | viable | Output pricing at $180.00 is premium. Route high-volume simple tasks to cheaper alternatives. |
Cost Pressure Analysis
High
Pricing is premium — input $30.00, output $180.00. This model is expensive for high-volume or output-heavy workloads.
Technical Specifications
Architecture and Limits
| Specification | Value | Validation Authority |
|---|---|---|
| Model type | Proprietary | inferred |
| Reasoning | Yes | faq |
| Input modalities | GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) supports text and image input. | faq |
| Output modalities | GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) supports text output. | faq |
| Context window | GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) has a context window of 1.1M tokens. This determines how much text and conversation history the model can process in a single request. | faq |
| Open weights / source | No, GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available. | faq |
| Parameters | GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) is a proprietary model and OpenAI has not disclosed the model size or parameter count. | faq |
| Knowledge cutoff | GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) has a knowledge cutoff of August 2025. The model's training data includes information up to this date. | faq |
| API availability | Yes, GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) is available via API through 1 provider. | faq |
Evidence charts
Profile visualizations
Charts are the same canonical evidence cards previously published for this slug, contained inside the D18D page grammar.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index by Open Weights / Proprietary
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Intelligence
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Speed
Output tokens per second · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Context Window
Context window: tokens limit · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Intelligence Index Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index task, segmented by token type. Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Intelligence Index task · Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost to Run Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Cost (USD) to run all evaluations in the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Pricing: Cache Hit, Input, and Output
Price (USD per M Tokens) · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Methodology
Methodology & Provenance
This page is rendered from the normalized profile and page JSON for GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh).
Benchmark values are preserved as normalized; only layout, disclosure ordering, and typography are adjusted for readability.
Frequently Asked Questions
Model FAQs & Technical Disclosures
GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) was released on March 5, 2026.
GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) was created by OpenAI.
GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) costs $30.00 per 1M input tokens (at the higher end, median: $1.50) and $180.00 per 1M output tokens (at the higher end, median: $8.40), based on OpenAI's API.
GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) costs $30.00 per 1M input tokens and $180.00 per 1M output tokens (based on OpenAI's API). For a blended rate (7:2:1 cache hit/input/output ratio), this is $45.00 per 1M tokens. Pricing may vary by provider.
Yes, GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) is a reasoning model. It uses extended thinking or chain-of-thought reasoning to work through complex problems before providing an answer.
GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) supports text and image input.
GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) supports text output.
Yes, GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) supports image input and can analyze, describe, and answer questions about images.
Yes, GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) is multimodal. It can process text and image input and generate text output.
GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) has a context window of 1.1M tokens. This determines how much text and conversation history the model can process in a single request.
No, GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available.
GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) is a proprietary model and OpenAI has not disclosed the model size or parameter count.
GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) has a knowledge cutoff of August 2025. The model's training data includes information up to this date.
Yes, GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) is available via API through 1 provider.
GPT-5.4 Pro (xhigh) is available through 1 API provider.