Intelligence
31 scoreOpenAI · Flagships Analysis
GPT-5 mini (medium)
Intelligence, Performance & Price Analysis
Canonical slug: gpt-5-mini-medium · Canonical model registry at build time
Speed
95.7 output tokens/secLatency
17.63s TTFTInput Price
$0.25 / 1M tokensOutput Price
$2.00 / 1M tokensExecutive Assessment
Routing Verdict & Tradeoffs
Frontier research / complex reasoning
GPT-5 mini (medium) scores 31 (estimated) on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, placing it well above average among other reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 15). GPT-5 mini (medium) generates output at 95.7 tokens per second (based on OpenAI's API), which is below average compared to other reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 99.0 t/s). GPT-5 mini (medium) costs $0.25 per 1M input tokens (better than average, median: $0.25) and $2.00 per 1M output tokens (at the higher end, median: $0.87), based on OpenAI's API.
Reserve this model for the hardest requests; simpler or repetitive work should stay on cheaper routes.
Task Fit Assessment
| Workload | Rating | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Complex reasoning & agentic workflows | optimal | Intelligence score 31 places this model among top performers. Suitable for multi-step analysis and agentic loops. |
| High-volume chat & customer-facing | optimal | Output speed 95.7 tokens/sec is adequate for chat. |
| Latency-sensitive applications | viable | TTFT 17.63s — latency may be noticeable in interactive use. |
| Cost-sensitive pipelines | viable | Output pricing at $2.00 is premium. Route high-volume simple tasks to cheaper alternatives. |
Cost Pressure Analysis
Medium
Pricing is moderate — input $0.25, output $2.00. Costs accumulate at volume but are manageable for valuable tasks.
Technical Specifications
Architecture and Limits
| Specification | Value | Validation Authority |
|---|---|---|
| Model type | Proprietary | inferred |
| Reasoning | Yes | faq |
| Input modalities | GPT-5 mini (medium) supports text and image input. | faq |
| Output modalities | GPT-5 mini (medium) supports text output. | faq |
| Context window | 400k tokens | faq |
| Open weights / source | No, GPT-5 mini (medium) is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available. | faq |
| Parameters | GPT-5 mini (medium) is a proprietary model and OpenAI has not disclosed the model size or parameter count. | faq |
| Knowledge cutoff | GPT-5 mini (medium) has a knowledge cutoff of May 2024. The model's training data includes information up to this date. | faq |
| API availability | Yes, GPT-5 mini (medium) is available via API through 2 providers. | faq |
Evidence charts
Profile visualizations
Charts are the same canonical evidence cards previously published for this slug, contained inside the D18D page grammar.
AA-Omniscience Index
AA-Omniscience Index (higher is better) measures knowledge reliability and hallucination. It rewards correct answers, penalizes hallucinations, and has no penalty for refusing to answer. Scores range from -100 to 100, where 0 means as many correct as incorrect answers, and negative scores mean more incorrect than correct. · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index by Open Weights / Proprietary
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Intelligence
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Output Speed
Output tokens per second · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Speed
Output tokens per second · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
End-to-End Response Time
Seconds to output 500 tokens, including reasoning model 'thinking' time · Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Latency: Time To First Answer Token
Seconds to first answer token received · Accounts for reasoning model 'thinking' time · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Context Window
Context window: tokens limit · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Intelligence Index Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index task, segmented by token type. Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Intelligence Index task · Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost to Run Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Cost (USD) to run all evaluations in the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Pricing: Cache Hit, Input, and Output
Price (USD per M Tokens) · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Time per Intelligence Index Task
Weighted average decode time (minutes) per task; excludes TTFT and overhead time · Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Methodology
Methodology & Provenance
This page is rendered from the normalized profile and page JSON for GPT-5 mini (medium).
Benchmark values are preserved as normalized; only layout, disclosure ordering, and typography are adjusted for readability.
Frequently Asked Questions
Model FAQs & Technical Disclosures
GPT-5 mini (medium) was released on August 7, 2025.
GPT-5 mini (medium) was created by OpenAI.
GPT-5 mini (medium) scores 31 (estimated) on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, placing it well above average among other reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 15).
GPT-5 mini (medium) generates output at 95.7 tokens per second (based on OpenAI's API), which is below average compared to other reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 99.0 t/s).
GPT-5 mini (medium) has a time to first token (TTFT) of 17.63s (based on OpenAI's API), which is at the higher end compared to other reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 1.96s).
GPT-5 mini (medium) costs $0.25 per 1M input tokens (better than average, median: $0.25) and $2.00 per 1M output tokens (at the higher end, median: $0.87), based on OpenAI's API.
GPT-5 mini (medium) costs $0.25 per 1M input tokens and $2.00 per 1M output tokens (based on OpenAI's API). For a blended rate (7:2:1 cache hit/input/output ratio), this is $0.27 per 1M tokens. Pricing may vary by provider.
Yes, GPT-5 mini (medium) is a reasoning model. It uses extended thinking or chain-of-thought reasoning to work through complex problems before providing an answer.
GPT-5 mini (medium) supports text and image input.
GPT-5 mini (medium) supports text output.
Yes, GPT-5 mini (medium) supports image input and can analyze, describe, and answer questions about images.
Yes, GPT-5 mini (medium) is multimodal. It can process text and image input and generate text output.
GPT-5 mini (medium) has a context window of 400k tokens. This determines how much text and conversation history the model can process in a single request.
No, GPT-5 mini (medium) is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available.
GPT-5 mini (medium) is a proprietary model and OpenAI has not disclosed the model size or parameter count.
GPT-5 mini (medium) achieves a score of 31 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index. This composite benchmark evaluates models across reasoning, knowledge, mathematics, and coding.
GPT-5 mini (medium) has a knowledge cutoff of May 2024. The model's training data includes information up to this date.
Yes, GPT-5 mini (medium) is available via API through 2 providers.
GPT-5 mini (medium) is available through 2 API providers.