Intelligence
7 scoreGoogle · Flagships Analysis
Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking exp. (Dec)
Intelligence, Performance & Price Analysis
Canonical slug: gemini-2-0-flash-thinking-exp-1219 · Canonical model registry at build time
Input Price
$0.00Output Price
$0.00Executive Assessment
Routing Verdict & Tradeoffs
Budget-friendly / task-specific model
Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) scores 7 (estimated) on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, placing it at the lower end among other reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 14).
Best for high-volume, simple, or domain-specific tasks where cost or speed matters more than deep reasoning.
Task Fit Assessment
| Workload | Rating | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Complex reasoning & agentic workflows | suboptimal | Intelligence score 7 is better suited for straightforward tasks than multi-step reasoning. |
| Cost-sensitive pipelines | optimal | Output pricing at $0.00 is very competitive for high-volume workloads. |
Cost Pressure Analysis
Low
Pricing is competitive — input $0.00, output $0.00. Suitable for sustained production use.
Technical Specifications
Architecture and Limits
| Specification | Value | Validation Authority |
|---|---|---|
| Model type | Proprietary | inferred |
| Reasoning | Yes | faq |
| Input modalities | Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) supports text and image input. | faq |
| Output modalities | Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) supports text only output. | faq |
| Context window | Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) has a context window of 2.0M tokens. This determines how much text and conversation history the model can process in a single request. | faq |
| Open weights / source | No, Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available. | faq |
| Parameters | Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) is a proprietary model and Google has not disclosed the model size or parameter count. | faq |
| Knowledge cutoff | Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) has a knowledge cutoff of August 2024. The model's training data includes information up to this date. | faq |
Evidence charts
Profile visualizations
Charts are the same canonical evidence cards previously published for this slug, contained inside the D18D page grammar.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index by Open Weights / Proprietary
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index v4.1 incorporates 9 evaluations: GDPval-AA v2, 𝜏³-Banking, Terminal-Bench v2.1, SciCode, Humanity's Last Exam, GPQA Diamond, CritPt, AA-Omniscience, AA-LCR · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Intelligence
Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Speed
Output tokens per second · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Context Window
Context window: tokens limit · Higher is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Intelligence Index Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index task, segmented by token type. Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost per Task
Weighted average cost (USD) per Intelligence Index task · Lower is better · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Cost to Run Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index
Cost (USD) to run all evaluations in the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Pricing: Cache Hit, Input, and Output
Price (USD per M Tokens) · Evaluation results measured independently by Artificial Analysis
Chart source and provenance are listed in Methodology & sources below.
- Source:
- Published benchmark dataset
- Retrieval date:
- 2026-07-08
- Methodology:
- Independent test run by Artificial Analysis on dedicated hardware.
Methodology
Methodology & Provenance
This page is rendered from the normalized profile and page JSON for Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking exp. (Dec).
Benchmark values are preserved as normalized; only layout, disclosure ordering, and typography are adjusted for readability.
Frequently Asked Questions
Model FAQs & Technical Disclosures
Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) was released on December 19, 2024.
Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) was created by Google.
Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) scores 7 (estimated) on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index, placing it at the lower end among other reasoning models in a similar price tier (median: 14).
Yes, Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) is a reasoning model. It uses extended thinking or chain-of-thought reasoning to work through complex problems before providing an answer.
Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) supports text and image input.
Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) supports text only output.
Yes, Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) supports image input and can analyze, describe, and answer questions about images.
Yes, Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) is multimodal. It can process text and image input and generate text only output.
Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) has a context window of 2.0M tokens. This determines how much text and conversation history the model can process in a single request.
No, Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) is proprietary. The model weights are not publicly available.
Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) is a proprietary model and Google has not disclosed the model size or parameter count.
Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) achieves a score of 7 on the Artificial Analysis Intelligence Index. This composite benchmark evaluates models across reasoning, knowledge, mathematics, and coding.
Gemini 2.0 Flash Thinking Experimental (Dec '24) has a knowledge cutoff of August 2024. The model's training data includes information up to this date.
Check the providers page for current API availability.
Visit the providers page to see availability.